The biscuit you can’t live without

February 18, 2011

If your biscuit delivery ship was going down, which would you reach for to accompany you on your dessert island?

Friday teatime at the Noveltea offices is always a slightly fraught time. As you might imagine we start the week with a tin brimming with biscuits, full of all our teatime favourites: jammie dodgers, chocolate hobnobs, pink wafers, party rings, custard creams and garibaldis; you name it, we’ve got it. By Friday afternoon, however, our collection is a bit thinner on the ground, and tempers start to fray as we fight over the remaining crumbs. Today, as Amos and I had a tug of war over the final chocolate bourbon, we got to thinking, if you were stranded on a desert island what biscuit would you want with you? Amos favours hobnobs and garibaldis, whereas I’d always pick a party ring or a pink wafer. We both agreed on one thing for once though, absolutely no digestives. What do you think? Whats your favourite biscuit of all time? We’d love to hear your thoughts so please cast your votes and leave your comments below!

For more news, reviews, letters and recipes visit www.noveltea.co.uk

9 Responses to “The biscuit you can’t live without”

  1. Rachael Potter said

    I’m afraid I would have to agree with Amos on this one. Chocolate hobnobs are definitely my favourite biscuit, with kit-kats running a close second. However as the weather on a desert island is likely to melt all that chocolate I would probably have to bring jammie dodgers instead!

    • Noveltea said

      Have you every tried biting off both ends of a kit kat and using it like a straw. Bliss! I wonder if the same trick would work with a kit kat chunky?

  2. robert said

    i think i’d fit in rather well in the noveltea office as i love fig biscuits. . . I imagine there would be no arguments over those!

    • Noveltea said

      You’re quite right Robert! I’m afraid there’s no love lost between fig rolls and me, ever since I was force-fed them as a child one rainy holiday in South Wales when the weather marooned us 40 miles away from the nearest shop… Perhaps I should consider councelling, but in the meantime help yourself!

  3. Laura said

    I would wish for nothing more than a raft sized biscuit.

    • Noveltea said

      What a fantastic idea, not least because you could gradually nibble it as your journey contnued. But what about weavles? And are you not worried it would become soggy? I had a rich tea biscuit the other day for the first time in AGES and I was astonished how pathetic their dunking endurance is. What’s your favourite dipper, and would it be able to withstand the ocean and the elements until you reached safety?

  4. I baked a Custard Cream the size of a baking tray for my sisters birthday. Not quite ‘raft’ size, but probably matched that of a swimmer training float.

  5. […] We will come up with some new teatime debates in the spirit of cream first or jam or the biscuit you can’t live without both of which sparked some hot […]

Leave a comment